LibGuides: Business and Management: Find Marketing Information

Demographics and Consumer Information Resources

Consumer Expenditure Survey (BLS) Provides information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics.
General Social Survey (GSS) The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Among the topics covered are civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.
Statistical Abstract of the United States The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Register for an account with your Wheaton College email address and access the database anywhere in the world.
Statista This link opens in a new window Access to quantitative data on media, business, finance and politic.

Popular Opinion Resources - United States

General Social Survey (GSS) The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Among the topics covered are civil liberties, crime and violence, intergroup tolerance, morality, national spending priorities, psychological well-being, social mobility, and stress and traumatic events.
Odum Institute Archive Database maintained by the University of North Carolina provides access to the Harris Poll, Carolina Poll, Southern Poll, National Network of State Polls and Knight Foundation Community Poll collections. Raw data included.
Pew Research Center A nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social science research that informs the public about issues, attitudes, and trend shaping the world.
Reuters Polling Explorer Weekly polls on a variety of topics since 2012.

Popular Opinion Resources - Global

AfroBarometer Afrobarometer is a pan-African, non-partisan research network that conducts public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, economic conditions, and related issues in more than 35 countries in Africa.
ArabBarometer ArabBarometer if a central resource for quantitative research on the middle east.
AsianBarometer he Asian Barometer survey program gathers public opinion data on political values, democracy, and governance throughout the region. The regional network includeds national research teams from Japan, Mongolia, South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, China, the Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Singapore, Indonesia, and Malaysia, as well as India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Nepal. Data were gathered through face-to-face interviews with randomly selected samples of respondents representing the adult population in each country. Topics addressed in each national survey concern economic conditions, social capital, political participation, partisanship, traditionalism, and trust in institutions.
EuroBarometer Public opinion polls on various subjects conducted throughout the European Union; 1973-present. Note: The raw data behind these polls is available at GESIS.
Latin American Public Opinion Project Surveys on democratic values and behaviors in 23 countries in Latin America. Includes micro level data.
LatinoBarometro Latinobarómetro, an annual public opinion survey that involves some 20,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 600 million people.[1] It observes the development of democracies, economies and societies, using indicators of attitude, opinion and behavior.
WorldPublicOpinion.org Information and analysis on public opinion from around the world on international issues. Includes extensive links to additional public opinion sites, by region and topic.

Advertising

AdAge Provides the latest news, insight and analysis in the world of marketing, media and advertising.
Ad Council Covering of public service advertising since 1942. Earliest efforts including "Loose Lips Sink Ships" to the more recent "I am an American," Ad Council PSAs have been raising awareness, inspiring action and saving lives for more than 70 years.