The Chicago Manual of Style
by
NOTE: The Chicago Style has two different systems: footnotes/endnotes and author/date. Be sure to ask your professor which style you should use.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
by
Visit the APA site for information on formatting your papers, creating in-text citations, tables and charts, developing your reference list/bibliography, and much more.
The Chicago Manual of Style
by
NOTE: The Chicago Style has two different systems: footnotes/endnotes and author/date. Be sure to ask your professor which style you should use.
MLA Handbook
by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements?facts common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date?that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts?middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields?the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers ? New guidance on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, and abbreviations ? A new chapter on principles of inclusive language ? Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group projects ? Revised, easy-to-use, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format ? A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more ? Guidance on finding publication information in a variety of sources ? Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work ? Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes ? Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism ? Annotated bibliography examples ? Numbered sections keyed to a subject index for quick navigation ? Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
The Excelsior OWL's MLA Style section provides excellent guidance on creating in-text citations and formatting your Works Cited list.
The MLA has a lot of information and tutorials on their website, a quick citation guide by format, a Quick Guide to Works Cited, an interactive template for creating bibliographic citations and information on formatting your paper.
American Political Science Association (APSA) has an excellent guide on their citation style.
Click on the links below to download PDFs of the following ASA style guides:
Here are some guides on how to cite your sources using Harvard citation style: