American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS) helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about our nation.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration. BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public. BEA is one of the world's leading statistical agencies. Although it is a relatively small agency, BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics that influence the decisions made by government officials, business people, households, and individuals. BEA's economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy, are key ingredients in critical decisions affecting monetary policy, tax and budget projections, and business investment plans.
CDC Wonder
Public health information and data sets from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention.
Current Population Survey
The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.
Data.gov
This government website contains a wealth of geospatial data and services. You can look at their gallery or search for and download shapefiles and other data sources. Files include extensive metadata and details.
Data.gov does NOT include data sets from all government agencies. For a list of included agencies, click here.
FRASER
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research is a project by the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis to expand on its mission to provide economic information and data to researchers interested in the U.S. economy. On this web site you will find links to scanned images ... of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents.
FRED Economic Research
This website offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data. The research division of FRED (Federal Reserve Bank of St.Louis) is responsible for advising the Bank president on matters of economic policy. The division monitors the economic and financial literature and produces research in the areas of money and banking, macroeconomics, and international and regional economics.
IPUMS-International (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series- International)
IPUMS-International (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, International) is the world's largest collection of publicly available individual-level census data. The data are samples from population censuses from around the world taken since 1960.
Migration Data Hub (Migration Policy Institute)
The Data Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
NBER is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals. Key focus areas include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies. NBER features a public-use data archive for downloadable datasets.
OECD Economic Surveys
The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development publishes an Economic Survey every two years for Fourty countries, including the BRIICS. It identifies the main economic challenges faced by the country and analyses policy options to meet them.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. The BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor. The BLS also serves as a statistical resource to the Department of Labor.
U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics
As the independent statistical agency within the Department of Transportation (DOT), the Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS) is a politically objective supplier of trusted and statistically sound baseline, contextual, and trend information used to shape transportation policy, investments, and research across the U.S. and abroad. BTS is the preeminent source of statistics on commercial aviation, multimodal freight, and transportation economics.
U.S. Census Bureau Economic Programs
Includes a variety of economic data by including reports by sector and geography, as well as links to economics data from other federal agencies.
Open Data Sources
European Union Open Data Portal
The EU Open Data Portal is home to vital open data pertaining to EU policy domains. These policy domains include economy, employment, science, environment, and education.
FAOSTAT
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.
FiveThirtyEight
FiveThirtyEight provides its various sources of data for a variety of sectors such as politics, sports, science, economics etc. You can download the data as well.
Google Public Data Explorer
Google Public Data Explorer can help you explore vast amounts of public-interest datasets. It makes the data from different agencies and sources available. For instance, you can access data from World Bank, U. S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and U.S. Bureau, OECD, IMF, and others.
International Monetary Fund
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
Registry of Open Data on AWS
This registry exists to help people discover and share datasets that are available via Amazon Web Services resources.
UNICEF Data
Since UNICEF concerns itself with a wide variety of critical issues, it has compiled relevant data on education, child labor, child disability, child mortality, maternal mortality, water and sanitation, low birth-weight, antenatal care, pneumonia, malaria, iodine deficiency disorder, female genital mutilation/cutting, and adolescents.
World Bank Open Data
The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables and reports.
World Health Organization- Global Health Observatory (GHO)
The GHO data repository contains an extensive list of indicators, which can be selected by theme or through a multi-dimension query functionality. It is the World Health Organization's main health statistics repository.
Yelp Open Datasets
The Yelp dataset is a subset of businesses, reviews and user data for use in personal, educational and academic pursuits.
There are 5,996,996 reviews, 188,593 businesses, 280,991 pictures and 10 metropolitan areas included in Yelp Open Datasets.
